On a personal note, How to prepare for a bout of cycling madness.

October 28, 2008 at 3:22 am 3 comments

Why?

It happens every few years, I am sitting in a pub bored with the conversation, bored with the job and wondering how to break the monotony. When I was inundated this time with the oh so familiar feeling of “get of your butt and do something you lazy bugger” it coincided perfectly with the flourishing of my new -found passion for cycling and the “Cycle for Change “ project was born. When one decides that it might be a good idea to ride through the Himalayas and Bangladesh the first thing you do is retire to nearest long mirror have a long hard look at yourself and ask the obvious question- Is the body up to this?

The sad truth?

The sad but honest truth was that this time it probably wasn’t. The combination of receding hair line, expanding waste line and general bodily abuse didn’t bode well, so in a moment of self realisation that rarely occurs to the sane I determined to get myself into real shape before I start the ride and regain the fitness that I had in the dim dark past of my high school days. To give you a idea of what we were dealing with I had not long returned to Japan after a nice little two month stint in the U.K. Revelling in the delights of the fat laden but breathtakingly enjoyable delights of English cuisine from the joys of the sausage roll and Cornish pasty, to the unequalled delight of a full English breakfast and the late night kebab washed down with buckets of Guinness, I had managed to balloon to a vulgar 102 kg and things needed to change.

As I write this I have managed to get down to a reasonable 96kg which might sound large to most but for a man of my build and constitution is reasonable. But is it enough? Not on your life. My goal is to get down to the almost unimaginable lows of 90 kg and I humbly ask you my noble reader to follow along on this journey of waste line reduction and preparation for what will be the biggest physical challenge I have ever under taken. To cure what I am sure will be an almost pathological need in you to follow this journey, I will regularly update the highs and lows of training and diet and sadly inflict upon you photographic evidence of my success or otherwise over the next few months.

The starting point.

So here is the base line, I am currently 96 kg, with a 34-inch waste, 188 cm tall and the depressingly advanced age of 37 1/2. I promise to give it my all to get to my goal weight and relay to you the things I find useful, the things that fail, the things I should have done. More importantly I suppose I aim to impart any knowledge that I gain in the vain hope of inspiring others to do likewise or just provide a bizarre commentary on ones effort to prepare for the adventure of a lifetime. So let the games begin, the waistline reduce and the fitness increase, join me on this little trip into training hell and if nothing else make yourself feel better about yourself for not having to do this yourself.

Other posts you really must see: Himalayan Bicycle adventure

Entry filed under: climate change, cycling, environment, fitness, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Himalayan bicycle adventure getting started-why is it so hard sometimes?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eri  |  October 28, 2008 at 4:46 am

    i can’t wait to see your sexy body!!

    Reply
  • 2. iamspidermonkey  |  October 28, 2008 at 5:45 am

    Hey my 50 year old boss lost a whooping 30kgs in six months with tons of exercise and an overhaul of his diet. So anything is possible! Go go go!

    Reply
  • 3. Dad  |  October 29, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Go for it!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cycle for Change Project

Cycle for Change on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


